top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Introduced in September 2007, the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a statutory framework which sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five years old and is closely aligned with our own values. Every aspect of our childcare has been designed with this framework in mind from our free flowing indoor and outdoor areas to our high quality resources that stimulate the needs of new babies through to pre-schoolers. The EYFS places emphasis on all children being given the opportunity to learn through play, something we believe is vital. Our Nursery makes no distinction between learning and play, our Nursery teams are trained to use children’s play as a means of developing all children in all areas.

Everything we do is dedicated to providing the best possible care whilst stimulating exploration and learning, giving every child the opportunity to achieve their full potential. We embrace the individuality, efforts and achievement of all children and recognise that learning and development takes place during all activities which is why our practitioners carefully plan and evaluate a range of experiences that encourage children to understand the world around them and help them in all areas of their development.

The EYFS has four themes that underpin all the guiding principles that we follow to give you confidence that every day your child is in our care they are learning new skills to set them up for life

  • A Unique Child

  • Positive Relationships

  • Enabling Environments

  • Learning and Development


We understand that development is not an automatic process despite the fact children are born ready, able and eager to learn, it depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments. Our practitioners work in line with the guiding principles of the EYFS but most importantly they work with you on your child’s progress as they learn to play, explore, create and think critically.

Under the four main themes the EYFS have identified seven areas of learning and development which are used by our nursery teams when planning and providing opportunities for your child to take part in. They encompass aspects of your child’s time at the nursery and will form the basis for any observations and assessments that take place. These are essential skills and knowledge enabling children to participate successfully in society, giving them an education that sets them up for life past nursery.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
We support children’s emotional well-being to help them know themselves and what they can do building their self-confidence and enabling them to manage their own feelings and behaviour.

Physical Development
We support our children to make those first moves, co-ordination of body and handling of resources. Furthermore we communicate the importance of physical activity and their ability to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Communication and Language
We provide opportunities and encouragement to use their skills in a range of situations and for a variety of purposes, and give our children the confidence to use these skills from listening to understanding through to speaking.

We inspire our children to enjoy reading and writing and to develop their skills in this area, reassuring all the way.

We encourage our children to explore, learn, practice and enjoy their developing understanding of numbers, shapes, and measures.

Understanding the World
We support our children to make sense of the world by offering opportunities to take part in practical experiments, encounter creatures and to plant vegetables in our own gardens.

Expressive Arts and Design
We encourage our children to express and communicate ideas and to respond to their experiences. The children dance and make music and develop their imagination through imaginative play.


View Our Parents and Carers Guide Here                           View The Full EYFS Framework Here

bottom of page